Web Design Company for Web Site Design and Web Page Design
Jun19
stars

Asia DNR Domain Name Scam

Domain Names 19 June 2008

A new scam involving an Asian domain registration firm asking for people to register some domain names through them has arisen. They suggest “a third party” is trying to register domain names related to you and your business. It tries to scare you into buying these names before your competitor does. However there is no competitor.

Another Domain Name scam from the Far East

Asia DNR Domain Name ScamA legitimate registrar company will never contact another company because a third party was trying to register a similar domain name. Asian domain names can be registered both in Asia and overseas, provided that they are available.

Make sure not to fall for this scam.
If you have any doubts about the validity of a domain registration email, just ask Clarke Design and we will check them out for you personally.

If you do have Asia-related operations or expect to be involved with Asia in the near future, it would make sense to register the appropriate domain name of your domain if they are available. We would be happy to discuss this with you if you wish.

Our advice: DELETE this email and forget about it !


Below is an example of an Asia DNR email to one of our clients. Note the domain name has been changed to protect the innocent:

Dear CEO,

We are the domain name registration organization in Asia, which mainly deal with international company's in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.

On the June 1 2008, we received an application formally. One company named "Ocean Holdings Limited Company" wanted to register following
Internet Trademark: xxx
Domain names:
xxx.asia
xxx.com.tw
xxx.info
xxx.tw

through our body.

During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged "Ocean Holdings Limited Company" has no trade mark, Intellectual property, nor patent even similar to that word. we found that the keywords and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark. one point need you to confirm: whether this alleged "Ocean Holdings Limited Company" is your business partner or distributor in ASIA. if so, we will complete their registration. These days we are dealing with it.

If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept. in order to deal with this issue better, please let someone who is responsible for trademark or domain name contact me as soon as possible.

Best Regards,

viewed 9522 times · last viewed on 12 March 2010

Bookmark this Article

Rate this Article

Hover over the above stars to choose your rating. Click to let us know.

Comments and Ratings

Overall rating:stars 5.49/10 from 3998 ratings

Add YOUR Comments to this Article

First Name Surname Rating
All fields must be completed
Web Design Company for Web Site Design and Web Page Design
Clarke Design · 9 Ossmere Close · Sandbach · Cheshire · CW11 1FB